Articles

so i was boring tonight

In Uncategorized on October 17, 2009 by Emily (https://funnyemily.wordpress.com) Tagged: , ,

Good evening lovely bloggies!

So it’s Friday night and I am just hanging out…listening to the little girls on my floor giggle in between screaming at each other. It’s great.

Now I know what you may be thinking, “Emily I thought you said you wanted to let go and have fun, yada yada” and yes if you are thinking that, you are right, I did say that. But I wasn’t feeling it tonight. I could have gone to a friend of mine’s house party, but I don’t want to. I just want to sit around and not think for a while. So that is what I am doing.

Um I think you should know that my breakfast was outstanding.

please try this; applesauce & banana & peanut butter & oatmeal & cinnamon need to get married, if i had the power vested in me i'd do it

please try this; applesauce & banana & peanut butter & oatmeal & cinnamon need to get married, if i had the power vested in me i'd do it

& I told my mom about it and she told me that she used to put applesauce in my oatmeal when I was a baby…that’s some spooky stuff, maybe I’m reverting back to baby taste buds, or maybe I’m just reading too much into it ;)

I dilly dallied a bit then attempted to do some laundry, tricky business since I had to time it so that I could finish before my group meeting…all was well and good until I went back down to put everything in the dryers when I realized someone had opened the machine my darks were in and stopped it leaving it with 38 minutes still to go…problem!!!, stupid freshmen (can’t they read a washing machine). But instead of stressing about it I turned it back on and let it do its thing, and it didn’t matter that I was 10 minutes late to my group meeting.

I can see how this is not very meaningful to any of you, but for me I’m glad it happened. My laundry didn’t go as planned so I had to change my plans. I changed my plans and the world didn’t come to an end. You see, I often forget that in real life plans can easily change. Little things like this really seem to teach me a lot. (or maybe I’m just dramatic)

just chilling admiring the trees...not caring that i was going to be late to my group meeting (don't let the flip flops fool you, it's an ice cube outside)

just chilling admiring the trees...not caring that i was going to be late to my group meeting (don't let the flip flops fool you, it's an ice cube outside)

While waiting for the laundry I had some soup-age.

i was feeling creative...minestrone & a tortilla yum yum

i was feeling creative...minestrone & a tortilla yum yum

Then I worked/hung out/fought with my group, yeah it was a good time.

Power walked back to my dorm to get out of the mind numbing cold (no I am not a fan of the weather, thank you very much). I chilled out some more then went to catch my ride to the food bank (almost late to that too…so unlike me)

Well let me just say the food bank was interesting. We were repacking food left over from high schools, catering services, restraints, etc. but there were like a million of us in this little “kitchen”, it was  a little cramped. But we all got it done and hopefully all the families needing food tonight will have some full bellies.

Then made a new discovery.

chicken in a can??...you learn something new in the c-store everyday

chicken in a can??...you learn something new in the c-store everyday

Which I ate while watching Made of Honor, which was entertaining & cute if that’s what you’re looking for, which I was.

Now I think I’m going to cozy up in my little bed and sleep the night away.

Ew—major side note. I found out today that a bunch of people from my last years’ floor have been doing some talking about me lately. Fun, right? Somehow word has gotten to them that I am thinking about transferring and they apparently find it interesting. So this afternoon I got a patronizingly worried text from an estranged friend “just wanting to make sure I was okay”. This really bugs me, especially because she never has time to give me the time of day. All she wanted to know was if the gossip was true, and make me feel bad for not telling her myself.

But you know what if my possible transfer is important enough for them to feel the need to discuss amongst themselves they can go right ahead, I really have no need to waste the energy caring (I’d be lying if I said I didn’t care when I got the text, but I’m sufficiently over it now).

Excuse my little rant…had to vent it out.

What are your thoughts on gossip?

I also must admit I do find myself participating in gossip sometimes…it turns out to be a common thread between people sometimes, but I’m working on it, because I know I don’t like when people hear or assume things about me.

Nighty night, sleep tight!

5 Responses to “so i was boring tonight”

  1. I have a HUGE jar of applesauce that I can’t wait to use up so of course I will be trying your yummy oatie breakkie.

  2. I hate gossip – people are so rude when it comes to those kind of things. I totally understand where you are coming from on this. Nice oats btw, applesauce? sounds good to me!

  3. OMG i cannot stand gossip this is one of the main reasons when I graduated form college I was home in legit 2 days after graduation. I lived in a house with 5 girls, given-they were my best friends, but the amount of talking behind each others backs and just pure nasty behaivor was NOT for me. one of my friends could be sitting in a room and two others could be AIM’ing about this girl-all three girls were in the same room! It is so sad that people have to be so nasty!

    your oats and applesauce look fabulous! I used to eat this when I was younger too!

    Dont you worry about these immature girls, they are just talking because they have nothing better to do!
    :)

  4. I’ve decided some of us have personality types that like to have evenings to ourselves. We shouldn’t feel bad about and in fact, we should look at it as taking care of ourselves. As long as I don’t make it a habit, I don’t see anything wrong with it. :)

  5. I seriously LOVE adding applesauce to my oatmeal! I just decided to try it on a whim last year and now have a difficult time eating oatmeal without it. :)

    Congrats on going with the flow and adapting to change in plans. I know from experience that it’s not always easy to do that, but it’s just a part of life we have to learn to adjust to!

    Augh, sorry to hear about the gossip. I think we all partake in that at some point, but it’s important to not let it get out of control. Try not to let it bother you. Just think – those people have NOTHING better to do than to sit around and gossip about you. Not something to be jealous of. ;)

    xxoo
    Heather

Leave a Reply

